19th Annual Scholarship Tea

Event Description - 19th Annual Scholarship Tea
Since its rebirth 19 years ago, the Scholarship Tea has recognized outstanding citizens whose work stimulates the vitality, health, and success of their communities. This year, the Scholarship Tea committee is pleased to honor Jill C. (Reina) Dagilis '78.

This year’s honoree is Jill Dagilis ’78.  Ms. Dagilis became executive director of the Worcester Community Action Council in 2006 and had previously served in Worcester’s municipal system with a focus on community development for more than 25 years.   During her tenure with the City, she served in various roles including commissioner of code enforcement, staff assistant for operations to the city manager, grants acquisition coordinator and commissioner of health and human services

Ms. Dagilis is known for building teams to find solutions to community challenges. Her track record includes many volunteer contributions from Montachusett Girl Scout Council, Worcester Community Action Council, to the Worcester State University Foundation Board, and as an active member of Hadwen Park Church.

She and her husband Paul have two adult children Michael and Jesse. She has her Bachelor of Science degree in Urban Studies from Worcester State University and her master’s in public administration degree from Clark University.

The Tea has played a long and honorable role in the history of the University, with the first being held in 1942. Over the years, the Tea has remained a direct link to the Worcester State of the past and serving as both guide and inspiration to the greatly enhanced scholarship program of today. Held annually in May, the formal event features a traditional tea and honors a notable member of the community. Past honorees have included Esther Forbes, Olive Higgins Prouty and John Higgins, to name just a few from the early years and, some of our more recent, George W. Tetler III, Esq., James and Maryanne Kenary, Leonard Morse, M.D., Stasia Hovenesian, Edwin “Ted” Coghlin Jr., James Morrison, M.D., Stephen Pezzella, M.D., Andrea Pezzella, M.D., author Nicholas Gage, Drs. Arthur and Martha Pappas, and many others who have contributed so much to Worcester and its fine institutions.  The Scholarship Tea has contributed over $191,000 to the scholarship program at Worcester State over the past 18 Scholarship Teas.

 To attend, please contact the Office of Alumni at 508-929-8141.
 Date: 5/5/2013
Time: 3:00 PM to 5:00 PM
Location: Worcester State University, Blue Lounge
Contact Information
Camilla Caffrey
Worcester State University
486 Chandler Street
Worcester, MA 01602